Complete Batman Night of Owls Reading Order

As The New 52 came in to demolish the DC Universe continuity as it has been for years, many people were increasingly unhappy with the turn the first round of comics took. The major stand out, though there were a few, was Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo’s Batman, which took the flagship character into the fledgling story arc that would become an instant classic. Court of Owls, which most people understand to also include the subsequent story arc and crossover event Night of Owls, is one of the best contemporary Batman storylines. Following a secret cadre of elite ruling classes that secretly run Gotham, Batman goes up against a group of tyrannical cryptic leaders like he never has before. This event brought together all the relevant Bat-books, as well as the book Talon that is birthed directly from this storyline and also written by Scott Snyder.

Here is the complete reading order for Batman Court of Owls, including all tie-ins for the crossover event.

Batman #1-9 (#8 and 9 will be a part of the second arc)

Nightwing #1-7 (Optional)
Batman Annual #1
Detective Comics #9
Batman: The Dark Knight #9
Batwing #9
Batman and Robin #9
Red Hood and the Outlaws #9

Catwoman #9 (Optional)
Birds of Prety #9
Batgirl #9
Nightwing #8-9
All-Star Western #9
Batman #10-12

All-Star Western #10-12 (Optional)

Talon #1-9 (Optional)

If you want to read this in trade there is a couple options.

First, you will need to read the very first Batman New 52 trade paperback.

Batman Vol. 1: The Court of Owls (The New 52)

Then you will follow with both the second volume of Batman, as well as the Night of Owls complete crossover volume. There will be overlap between City of Owls and Night of Owls with the first few Batman issues, but you will mainly be getting the second volume of Batman so that you can get the last three issues of Batman.  Night of Owls will include the tie-ins listed, except for the ones listed Optional.  Those need to be read in single issues, or as part of different trade paperbacks.

Batman Vol. 2: The City of Owls (The New 52)

Batman: Night of the Owls (The New 52)

After this you will be ready to go into Death of the Family!

There are 3 comments

    1. vertigology

      It has been really hard to get a full reading order for New 52 titles. I know that they aren’t completely consistent, but at least give readers an outline so they don’t get totally lost!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s