Complete Dead Boy Detectives Reading Order

Our favorite child ghost detectives have fluttered around the Vertigo world of Sandman, before setting out on their own for many short adventures.  The two have yet to have a long ongoing run, but even in recent Vertigo history they have had great runs from quality creators like Mark Buckingham.  We decided to compile a sort of “reading order” for Dead Boy Detectives, which is also a sort of chronicle of all of their appearances.  You can certainly follow this reading order directly, which is recommended to always know who is who and what is happening, though some of the miniseries could be jumped into without any background and you could still pick up who the characters are.

  • Sandman #25 (Seasons of the Mist)

The Children’s Crusade Event

(Note, the Dead Boy Detectives only appear in the Children’s Crusade issues, but it is important to read all of the issues so you know what is going on.)

  1. Chidren’s Crusade #1
  2. Black Orchid Annual #1
  3. Animal Man Annual #1
  4. Swamp Thing Annual #7
  5. Doom Patrol Annual #2
  6. Arcana Annual #1
  7. Children’s Crusade #2

Winter’s Edge #4

(Books of Magic story)

Sandman Presents: Dead Boy Detectives

Death: At Deaths Door

The Dead Boy Detectives

  • #1-4

Vertigo Anthologies

  1. Ghosts
  2. Time Warp
  3. The Witching Hour

Dead Boy Detectives Vol. 1: Schoolboy Terrors

  • #1-6

Dead Boy Detectives Vol. 2: Ghost Snow

  • #7-12

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s